More Conversations with Lucas

Standard

Today is Lucas’s first day of Kindergarten. It’s his first full day experience with school going from 8:56am-3:59pm (yes, that’s really the official time!). I have so many mommy emotions to deal with. Someone stole my tiny baby boy and replaced him with this big, semi-independent six-year-old. He’s more than ready for this phase of life, but me? Well, I’m working on it.

The good news is that I finally have a solid stretch of time to attend to a lengthy to-do list! So naturally I’m going to ignore that and sit on the couch thinking about Lucas and writing about him 🙂  Here are some funny conversations we’ve had with him the past few months.

*

L: Mommy! While Daddy was hugging you I ran upstairs and hid your Mother’s Day surprise in my room!

B: Oh wow! Okay, I won’t go in there.

L: It’s okay, you can go in there because you can’t see it. It’s in my closet behind the sign that Uncle Tony made for me. On Sunday Daddy and I will see if you can find it.

J: Um…

L: Don’t worry Daddy! I didn’t tell her what it was.

*

L: Mommy, why don’t you ever take a shower in this bathroom anymore?

B: The shower is broken and we haven’t gotten it fixed.

L: Why?

B: Mostly because it costs a lot of money to get things like that fixed and we don’t really need to use that shower.

L: Oh. But I know Mommy!! You can have my tooth fairy money to fix it! Would that be enough?

*

L: Mommy! Come look at this! [holds up his potato chip]

B: Okay, what am I looking at?

L: My chip! Look!

B: Okay……..????

L: Can’t you see it’s shaped just like Vermont?

*

L: Mommy, Grandma Waterloo said I have eagle eyes. What does that mean?

B: That means you have really good eyesight, because eagles can see tiny things from very far away.

L: Oh! Does Grandma know I have really good earsight and nosesight too?

*

J: Lucas, do you know one way in which you and Mommy are alike and I’m different?

L: Mommy and I are smart and you’re forgetful?

J:…Um…I was going to say you and Mommy were born in Michigan and I was born in Ohio.

L: Oh.

*

B: Lucas, come quick! There’s a wild turkey in the street!

L: Whoa!

B: Or maybe that’s a pheasant? No, it’s a wild turkey. I think. I’m not sure.

L: I love it so much! I’m going to say thanks to God. Dear Jesus, thanks for sending a wild turkey but it might be a pheasant to Middleton so we could see it. Amen.

*

L: Mommy, look! There are dandelions in our backyard!

B: Yeah, I see those.

L: Wow, this is our lucky day!

*

B: …and when Joseph was in the far away place, God was still with him. Isn’t that great?

L: Yes! And when Joy and Bing Bong were in the memory dump, God was still with them.

B: Um, well…

L: And when Joy and Sadness got sucked out of headquarters God was still there.

B: Uh…

L: And when Riley moved to a new house, God was still with them in California!

*

J: It’s time to go but I have to get something out of my car.

L: I thought we were taking your car!

J: It’s kind of smelly right now. I think Mommy would prefer if we took hers instead.

L: Oh. Well don’t mind smelly as long as it’s not too smelly.

*

L: Mommy, do you know what we forgot to do yesterday?

B: What?

L: Read Bible stories after lunch.

B: Oh, right. Let’s be sure to do that today. We can also read that book about hermit crabs I have in my office if you want.

L: Okay. But let’s read the Bible stories first because I like God better than hermit crabs.

*

L: Mommy, did you know monarch butterflies are poisonous?

B: They are?

L: Yeah, they’re poisonous if animals eat them. But don’t worry, I’d rather stick with sandwiches anyway.

*

That’s all the conversations I have for today, and it’s only 11:30 am! T minus four hours until I can leave to pick up that sweet and funny boy from school. I guess maybe I’ll have a glance at that to-do list afterall. Happy September everyone!

One thought on “More Conversations with Lucas

Leave a Reply

