Good-bye Preschool

Standard

It seems like just yesterday I was writing a post about Lucas starting preschool. And here I am, just over a year later, writing about preschool ending. It was fun to go back and read my other post and remember those first days. It was so hard to let him go. I’m pretty sure it was more difficult for me than it was for him. Thankfully we both adjusted and by the end we were all sad when preschool ended. Last summer he was reluctant to go and would throw himself into my arms when I picked him up, so excited to see me and to head home. This spring and summer, he was thrilled to go and when I picked him up, he’d always want to stay until the very last second. He talked about his friends and school activities at home all the time.

We’ve seen Lucas change in so many positive ways due to his preschool experience. He’s better at sharing and taking ideas from other kids. He is much more calm and comfortable in big groups of people. His teachers report that he is confident and willing to speak up and contribute to the group when it is his turn to share ideas. He is more persistent with difficult tasks and he’s more independent. We loved his play-based preschool program which gave him loads of time outdoors and the freedom to explore and learn about things that are of interest to him.

I’d love it if he could stay in a classroom like that forever, but it’s time for that experience to end and a new adventure to start. He’s going to be attending a half-day young fives program this coming year at one of the local elementaries. I’m sure it will be another adjustment for all of us, but I’m hoping that with one year of school under his belt, he’ll feel more confident starting out.  I know I will.

Here are some pictures of his year. If you’re an email follower, click on the title of this post to visit actual blog. There you can view the slide show. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We sure love our preschool graduate!

Leave a Reply

