Conversations with Lucas, Part 3

Standard

Having a four year old means that we spend a lot of time hiding smiles and laughs. I’m actually pretty terrible at hiding them (and Jaime is too). Thankfully, Lucas doesn’t get upset when we laugh at the adorable things he says. I hope it stays that way, because I remember distinctly how offended I was when my parents or sisters would laugh at me when I was around his age. Hearing that I was cute didn’t pacify me. As the youngest of six girls, I just wanted to be taken seriously. Lucas is more of a ham then I was, though, and he enjoys getting a laugh out of us, even if he’s not sure what’s funny.

Here are a few recent conversations that have gotten a smile or a laugh:

L: Mommy, some bees like wood.

B: Oh really? Did you learn about that at school? [They’ve been studying insects.]

L: What?!?!! No!!!  There’s no learning at my school!!

*

L: Mommy, come see my farm! Do you want to play with me?

B: Sure!

L:  Okay. Well, the chickens have been fed, the horses have been hayed, the dogs have been petted, the sheep have been wooled, the cows have been milked, and the silo has been filled to the top with corn.  I did all that because I’m Farmer Lucas.

B: Okay, what do I do?

L: Nothing, you’re the wife.

*

L: Mommy, how many grapes did you give me?

B: I gave you ten grapes.

L: When I eat one I’ll have nine!  Then eight, then seven, then six, then five….

B: Then four, three, two, one, then zero!

L: “Blast off” comes after one Mommy, not zero.

*

L: Mommy, I’m bladdish.

B: Bladdish?  What’s bladdish?

L: It’s a feeling. It’s a mad kind of jealous.

*

L: Look Mommy, I’m drawing the earth!

B: That looks great!

L: Now I’m drawing heaven.  Where Jesus is, and God. And the kingdom. And the Lord.

*

B: Hey Sweetheart, what are you playing?

L: I’m a rocket ship!  I take people to Chicago, to the ocean, and to IKEA.

*

L: Mommy, Daddy’s name is Jaime but I don’t call him that. I just call him two things.

B: Dad and Daddy?

L: No, Daddy and Bearsie.

*

L: Mommy, I love farms.

B: I know you do, Baby.

L: Cows give us milk, sheep give us wool, chickens give us eggs, goats give us cheese, ducks give us feathers, geese give us…[thinks for a minute]…poop. And horses give us beans.

L:  Mommy, why are you laughing?

*

image

So many good vibes from this boy 🙂 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Conversations with Lucas, Part 3

  1. Debbie

    I think my favorite is:

    L: Mommy, I love farms.

    B: I know you do, Baby.

    L: Cows give us milk, sheep give us wool, chickens give us eggs, goats give us cheese, ducks give us feathers, geese give us…[thinks for a minute]…poop. And horses give us beans.

    L: Mommy, why are you laughing?

    Lucas and I are always talking about goose poop!

  2. Jacqueline L.VanEerden

    Oh Miss Betsy….priceless ! I’m sorry…but you were and are exceptionally cute ! I’m sorry that you didn’t feel taken seriously…I’m sure you were just the bubbles in the brew in your growing up home…( that just popped into my mind )…..I have memories of you at church…and then when you lived across the street . We ALWAYS loved you…..your visiting was always a treat ! I so love your sharing about your sweet Lucas ….really hope to experience him in person sometime ! One memory…that we have photos of somewhere……are of you standing on a stool to give Sheila a home perm since we were completely inept in that department . Ahhh…..thanks again for sharing your life stories !!!! ( I often read them to Richard….not that he cannot read….I just enjoy reading it out loud ).💖💖💖 hugs

  3. Kelly

    Those quips and conversations are sweet and hilarious! How wonderful that you record so many of them; I bet Lucas will LOVE reading these posts and remembering them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

