Nothing That Has Happened So Far Has Been Anything We Could Control

Standard

Just when the end of cold and flu season was within sight. Just when the weather was finally starting to feel springlike. Just when we thought things were returning to normal.

Sick again.

We had spent a really fun, long weekend in Chicago a couple of weeks ago and Betsy held up great and we all had a blast. About a week after getting back, Lucas started coughing. Betsy and I were both trying to act unconcerned, but the truth is, we were. We were literally (because Lucas is still learning to cover his mouth when he coughs) and figuratively, holding our breaths, hoping that Betsy wouldn’t catch whatever bug that had befallen Lucas. And sure enough, by the weekend Betsy was down for the count. At first it was just a sore throat and sinus pressure. Then those initial symptoms gave way to respiratory difficulties. Betsy told me she noticed a change in her breathing.

Sigh.

IMG_0763 (1)

Spring, finally.

Of course that unleashed a whole wave of questions and concerns. Should we give Betsy’s body some time to fight off the virus on its own? When do we need call the doctor if at all? Would he want to prescribe antibiotics? Would he want Betsy to go on IV antibiotics (please no please no please no please no please no)? It’s a balancing act. For obvious reasons, we don’t want Betsy to take antibiotics haphazardly because we want her body to be responsive to them when she really needs them. On the other hand, we don’t want her to naively refrain from taking them if she really does need them, causing a minor infection to turn into something far worse.

In the end, she did call the doctor and he did prescribe a pretty lightweight oral antibiotic which he thinks will be enough to get Betsy back on her feet. She didn’t dodge the bullet completely but it could have been worse.

I nicked the title of this post from a song by Australian psych rockers Tame Impala (PSA: If you’ve never listened to them before, you should definitely check them out! My favorite album is Lonerism). I couldn’t think of a better way to sum up how I have been feeling about this latest bout with illness. We’ve been washing our hands, we’ve been trying to regulate Betsy’s activity, we’ve been making sure she has been getting as much sleep as possible and doing everything to minimize her exposure to the outside world, especially as she was coming off the steroids which we knew were probably suppressing her immune system. What else could we have done?

impala1

Wild impala.

TameImpala

Tame Impala.

One answer is nothing. Admittedly, it’s not one that I like. Probably the thing I struggle with the most is the feeling of helplessness. By nature I’m the sort of person that wants to try to prevent and protect. I wouldn’t say I’m paranoid (although Betsy might disagree) but I’m definitely über alert to any danger. When Lucas was learning to walk I remember carefully inspecting all of our furniture looking for dangerous corners that he might tumble into so that we could cover them with pads and cushions. I think subconsciously, I take a similar approach to Betsy’s health. Is there someone sniffling in the row behind us at church? Have any of her students been sick in the last month?

But alas, not everything can be prevented. And that leaves me feeling distressed and annoyed. I came across a benediction that appears at the end of 2 Thessalonians the other day:

Now may the LORD of peace himself give you peace at all times in every way.

I’ve been trying to keep this in mind. Because what I really need at times like this is peace. As much as I would like it to be otherwise, there are many things that are out of my control. There are things I can’t prevent. But I trust that Betsy’s health is in God’s hands. And knowing that gives me peace.

 

One thought on “Nothing That Has Happened So Far Has Been Anything We Could Control

  1. Elaine Behling

    I don’t know if I have COPD or not, but I have found that treating a cold aggressively works for me. My pulmonologist prescribes antibiotics and steroids for me and this latest bout lasted only 2 weeks. The previous, untreated one was 6 weeks. Elaine Behling

Leave a Reply

