A Windy Weekend

Standard

Last weekend we got out of town and spent four days in the windy city of Chicago! It felt great to vacate for a bit. I’ve been on steroids for just over three weeks now. Steroids suppress the body’s immune response, and given the tough time I’ve had this year with staying healthy, I have been making a concerted effort to avoid situations where I might be exposed to germs. Translated, I’ve barely left the house. A weekend away was just what we needed!

We left midday on Friday and took the train. Lucas was very excited and spent the first hour looking out the window and all the farms and forests we passed by. Did I say Lucas? I meant Gnocchi the cat (a character on Curious George and Lucas’s current favorite alter ego).  “Gnocchi” was meowing pretty loudly while we were waiting for the train, but thankfully for the sake of the passengers around us, he quieted down once we boarded.

image

“Gnocchi”

Our conversation for the first hour went something like this:

L: Look Mommy! A forest!  Do bears live in those woods?

B: Probably not, bears usually live further north.

L: But I want them to live in there!

B: I guess it’s possible.

L: Ok, because I think they do. Mommy, look at the farm!  Do chickens peck people?

B: No, chickens peck on the ground for food.

L: But I want them to peck people!

B: I guess it’s possible….

L: Ok, because I think they do.

[conversation repeats nonstop with various scenarios for 30 minutes]

B: Lucas, do you want to play on the iPad?

L: No, I want to talk about farms and forests!

B: ………….

We arrived in time to get dinner and relax in the hotel for the evening. Saturday morning I was feeling pretty tired from the previous day’s travel (and conversations) so I stayed back while the boys went to the park. While they were gone I did nothing. Really. I laid on the bed and stared out the window. It was pretty great 🙂  Sometimes I feel sad when I’m too sick or tired to be a part of activities, but that morning I was feeling really thankful. Sure, if I had my way, I’d love to be healthy and energetic enough never to have to stay back. But there’s always the flip side of the coin.  Jaime and Lucas have a really special and close relationship, in part because of all the times that Jaime has taken care of Lucas without me, and the countless nights they’ve snuggled up together so I could sleep uninterrupted in a dark, quiet room, and all the adventures they go on to give me some rest time at home. It makes me happy to see their bond. What made Lucas happy that morning was walking by the river, running around like a little maniac, and getting a pigeon to eat out of his hand!

image

Walking by the river.

image

Joy! Energy! Enthusiasm!

image

Lucas feeding his pigeon friends.

Other highlights of the weekend included reading stacks of books and building with Legos at the library, visiting a zoo and farm with my sister and her family, a brief stop at the Magnificent Mile, and a full day spent at Chicago Children’s Museum. Lucas also successfully ate food from three different restaurants. That is what we like to call progress!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am so grateful that despite not feeling 100% back to baseline, I was able to go on this trip and withstand the rigors of the weekend. According to my Fitbit, I walked 18 miles and took nearly 42,000 steps during those four days.  I thank God for giving me the needed strength (and coffee)!

Yesterday I headed back to my CF clinic to check in with my doctor. My FEV1 was still at 37%, the same as when I went in three weeks ago. I would have been thrilled to see a higher number, but regardless, I am feeling so much better than I was three weeks ago. I’m sleeping better, coughing less, and having fewer headaches. The doctor said that the virus I was dealing with was strong and nasty, and of course in my situation, complicated by my CF and asthma. It will take more time to recover fully, but because of the progress I’ve made, I’m doing a final steroid taper and will be off in five days. Although I’m grateful for steroids, I’m very ready to be off. The flip side of that coin is pesky side effects like sleep interruptions, anxious feelings, and mood swings to name a few. (Jaime and Lucas are probably ready for me to be off too!) I hope and pray that the spring (if it ever gets here), will bring with it an increase in health, stamina, and lung function.

In the meantime I’m counting my blessings–like energy for a fun weekend away, my chattery four-year old, and a helpful husband to name a few.

2 thoughts on “A Windy Weekend

  1. Inhaling Hope

    Lucas totally cracks me up! I completely relate to having to sit back while K and my husband go on adventures without me! I hope you continue to heal from your virus and that spring/summer keep you healthy!

Leave a Reply

