Twenty Years

Standard

Jaime and I started dating when we were spring chickens…just 17 years old. The first week in January we celebrated our 20 year anniversary. It’s been 20 years since he worked up the courage to tell me he’d like to hang around with me a little more because he thought I was pretty special.

Twenty years makes me feel ancient!  To ease the pain of aging and to commemorate this grand occasion, Jaime surprised me with a card and a gift.  There were two parts to the gift–first, he made me a CD with songs and included a key as to why he picked those songs. Some of them were selections from 20 years ago. Others were ones we’ve heard together just recently. They all have some meaning for our relationship. My favorite song on the CD is “I’d Pick you Every Time” by Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds.  In the explanation, Jaime said that given the chance to chose me again, he would, and it would be the easiest decision ever. That’s high praise and comforting to hear since my health issues have made life difficult for Jaime on many occasions. I’m glad (and relieved) that he doesn’t regret choosing me!

The next part of the gift was something to help me in my health and exercise goals, a Fitbit! I never realized how much I needed a Fitbit until I got one 🙂  A Fitbit is a fitness tracking device.  My particular model (the Charge HR) tracks how many steps I take in a day, how many miles I walk, how many flights of stairs I climb, how many calories I burn, and how many minutes I’m active in day.  It also records exercise, monitors my heart rate, calculates resting heart rate and let’s me know how long I’ve slept each night and what my sleep quality was like. The sleep quality report is done by tracking restless movement, times I awake in the night, and deducting those minutes from my overall time asleep. It comes with preset goals in all these areas, and you can customize it to be reasonable for your lifestyle. As Lucas would say, it’s super cool.

IMG_9078

My weekly report!

IMG_9092

What my heart was up to that day.

IMG_9080

Exercise record including a map of where I walked.

IMG_9095

A poor (albeit long) night’s sleep when I was sick versus a restful night’s sleep.

Besides all the data (which I love) the best thing about the Fitbit is it has gotten me moving.  I only do intense exercise three days per week as that’s all my time and energy will allow.  But I realized there’s no reason I can’t go for a stroll in the evening while Jaime is putting Lucas to bed, or spend 10 minutes walking on the treadmill even on an “off” day. After a few weeks of doing that, I noticed I was feeling stronger on my exercise days. Exciting!

I’d like to say that grand new heights have been reached, but sadly I got a virus two weeks after getting the Fitbit so I haven’t been able to do as much these past weeks.  When I’m all better, I’m hoping to get back at it and see if the extra movement increases my energy and fitness.  I’m feeling optimistic that it will.

I’ll never be as physically fit as I was 20 years ago when I started my relationship with Jaime, but any improvement would be welcome. Besides, I have it on good authority that he loves me just the way I am.

FullSizeRender (8)

Then…

Ventura Family-25 (2)

And now.

 

2 thoughts on “Twenty Years

  1. Debbie

    I remember the day the first picture was taken. I remember your dress and Jaime’s tux. And I thought, “Betsy is perfect for Jaime!” God has blessed our entire family when you became a part of it!

Leave a Reply

