Conversations with Lucas, Part Two

Standard

Several weeks ago I wrote a blog post about some funny conversations I had with Lucas. Since then, I’ve been told by friends that although kids say amusing things for years, the three to four year old age is the of the peak of these types of conversations. Hearing that made me double my resolve to write them down. I’m hoping in years to come when Lucas is older, these might bring a smile to our faces again, and maybe even to his! Here’s some recent exchanges we’ve had:

B: Wow, that’s a lot of blocks in that tower.  How many are there?

L: Plumpty.

B: (Laughs) Plumpty?!

L: (Stares me down) Yes. I said plumpty.  There are plumpty blocks in my tower.

*

(At the zoo)

L: Oh!  Look at the elephants, I love elephants!

B: Do you remember that the little elephant is named Lucas?

L: But I want to be the big elephant.  Can I be the big elephant Mommy?

B: Okay, sure!

L: You can be the little one Mommy.  Daddy, you can be the dirt.

(A few weeks later when Lucas and Jaime are back at the zoo…)

L: It’s too bad there’s no Daddy elephant but don’t worry Dad, you can still be the dirt.

*

L: Mommy, you have soft arms. (Kisses my arm) Did God made you that way?

B: …Yes, I guess He did! (The exfoliating bath gloves I got for Christmas have helped too).

*

(Driving in the car)

L: Mommy, what’s wrong?

B: I’m just a little frustrated. When it’s time to go I want you to be flexible and stop what you’re doing so we can be on time.

L: Oh. (Several minutes pass)

B: Are you okay back there?

L: Yes…Mommy I’m sorry I got mad and didn’t want to leave.

B: Thanks Baby, I forgive you.

L: Ok, I said sorry, what about you??

*

B: Lucas, use a tissue to wipe your nose please!

L: But I want to wipe it on the couch! Or on your robe.

*

L: Daddy, what are you doing?

J: I’m trying to fix this.

L: Mommy’s good at fixing things.  Daddy, if you were a girl, you’d be good at fixing things too.

*

B: Lucas, could you put these chips away for me?

L: Sure, but only if you ask nicely.

B: Oh, Lucas could you put these chips away please?

L: OK, but tell me where they go. (He knows where they go)

B: …They go in the cupboard.

L: (Points to the plates cupboard) But that’s a cupboard!

B: They go over there in the tall, thin cupboard.

L: But there are two tall thin ones!

B: (Seriously regretting not putting them away myself)…THE ONE ON THE RIGHT!!

L: Ok, got it.

Ventura Family-37

He thinks he’s pretty hilarious…and he is 🙂

2 thoughts on “Conversations with Lucas, Part Two

Leave a Reply

