Happy Endings

Standard
IMG_8782

Taking in the beauty of the Christmas tree.

A moment ago, I reviewed the post I wrote near Christmas last year. At the time, I was just getting through a serious illness.  It was the first domino to fall in what turned out to be a series of unfortunate events for my health, resulting in the loss of lung function that I’m one year later, I’m still trying to regain. It was not the best ending to the year.

This year, I’m just coming out of my first infection of the season again, but what a difference. Last year the infection was serious and debilitating, and this year, things began clearing up nicely after just a few days of antibiotics. I’m still having issues sleeping (courtesy of the medications I was on), but I’m done with the course now, and things are starting to return to normal.

Today I headed to the clinic for a breathing test. I didn’t have an exam scheduled, but I asked my doctor if I could have a spirometry just to make sure my lung function was headed in the right direction. Sometimes after an illness, I think I’m doing better than I actually am. Any improvement feels better than the worst days of the infection, and I’ve been known to think I’m doing great when in fact my lung function is still quite low. The opposite has happened too. I also wanted to see if the new asthma medications were helping. The great news is that my FEV1 was 44% today.  That is the highest score I’ve gotten in 2015!  It is up six points from my last exam in November. My lung function is still lower than I’d like (I’m hoping to get back to my pre-2015 health calamity baseline near 50%).  But I’m feeling happy and encouraged, and optimistic about what the future holds. The challenges of this past year have served as a reminder both that I am finite and God is faithful. Part of me would like to go back and delete a few difficult events from the year. But then I remember that God promises to work all things together for good, even, or perhaps especially the hard things.  That reminder fills my heart with peace. This year has a happy ending, and I love happy endings.

Last year after my pre-holiday illness I had to start from square one on my exercise. I knew I wasn’t as weak as last year, but I was still nervous when I mounted the beast [treadmill] a few days ago. I surprised myself and was able to run a mile and a half in 18.5 minutes. Not bad! I haven’t been as active as usual these past weeks but with Lucas around, I certainly haven’t been stagnant. He comes up with imaginitive games to play every day, and they always, ALWAYS involve running and chasing and laughing hysterically. These activites are good for my lungs. Some of his most recent games he named the Stomach Bug, Sharp Pig, the Tickler, and the Kissy Monster. If Jaime is home, he is the aforementioned villian. If not, it’s me.  The good news is after a good long time of screaming, chasing, locking Daddy out of the house (only for him to resurface from another entrance), and jumping out of hiding spots, every game ends the same. The villian cries with loud, dramatic, tears and says he just wants to be friends. He says he’s sorry he scared us. We all become best of friends. Lucas likes a happy ending too.

At Christmastime I think about Jesus and how He came as a baby, to walk among us, to love, and to serve.  Even now He is among us, giving life, hope, peace, and joy. And then He died in order to provide us all with the opportunity for a happy ending. That is the best news of all!

Hail, the heaven born Prince of Peace!
Hail, the Son of Righteousness!
Light and life to all He brings,
Risen with healing in His wings.

Mild He lays His glory by,
Born that we no more may die,
Born to raise the lost on earth,
Born to give them second birth.
Hark! The herald angels sing,
Glory to the newborn King!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, Friends!

Click here to view our 2015 holiday card 🙂

4 thoughts on “Happy Endings

  1. Mom Ventura

    Oh what joy it is to hear this fantastic news! Indeed GOD is GOOD (every faithful and present) and you are amazing (determined and bold)! We continue to pray without ceasing for an infection free winter and that the FEV just keeps climbing higher and higher! We love you! Mom and Dad Ventura

  2. Jacqueline L.VanEerden

    Thank you so much for sharing your life BETSY . Thank you for your Christmas card ! I. a l m o s t. , almost got the time and energy together in one place this year to send cards….we sure do appreciate yours ! So so glad you are feeling better….that’s an understatement…!!!!! Hugs ! 💗💗💗

Leave a Reply

