Potty Training in Pictures

Standard

Well, we finally took the plunge (no pun intended) and started potty training Lucas.  This is something I have been putting off and dreading, mostly because every time we mentioned the idea we would get a forceful, adamant “NO!!” from that otherwise sweet boy.

I told myself that after the holidays were over and we were done traveling, I’d get started.  I read a few things here and there, but even heading into it last week, I had no idea what I was doing.  I still don’t really know what I’m doing but I’m happy to report that the diapers are put away (except for disposable training pants at night) and he’s doing great!  Jaime and I are ecstatic.  Jaime was so pumped he spent a ridiculous amount of money on a giant Bubble Guppies balloon for Lucas, just to show him we were proud of his efforts.  You’ll see the monstrosity in the pictures below. (Bubble Guppies is a cartoon he currently likes.)

Lucas is definitely not all the way there…he had one accident today and I am still taking him to the potty most of the time.  He rarely tells me on his own if he needs to go.  He also requires a lot of help getting his pants and underwear up and down. He is a rather solid child and his clothing is getting stuck on his adorable chubby thighs.  He also needs help getting his male parts pointed in the right direction. Let’s just say the bathroom has been hosed off a few times during this process!

We are so proud of him.  He’s resistant to change in all forms and not wanting to start World War III we waited until he was showing more flexibility in other areas of his life.  He cried a few tears the first time we told him he was going to sit on the potty and one time this week he asked in a rather pitiful voice if he could please just have his diaper back, but overall it’s gone great.  Tonight as we were praying before bed he said, “Dear Jesus, thank you that I can pee pee on the potty.  Amen.”  I guess he’s on board now 🙂

I hope you enjoy the pictures!

Choosing what sticker to put on his chart...

Choosing what sticker to put on his chart…

A little diaper/undie free time!

A little diaper/undie free time with his balloon.

It can get boring waiting for things to get moving...

It can get boring waiting for things to get moving…

I'm sure I said I'd never give a kid electronics on the potty but...

I’m sure I said I’d never give a kid electronics on the potty but he asked so nicely…

B: After you go pee pee on the potty you can watch Bubble Guppies." L: "Can you just move the potty into the family room?" B: "......."

B: After you go pee pee on the potty you can watch Bubble Guppies.”
L: “Can you just move the potty into the family room?”
B: “…….ok……”

Seeking out a little privacy at a friend's house.

Seeking out a little privacy at a friend’s house.

Look at all my stickers!!

Look at all my stickers!!

Getting cozy in my undies.

Getting cozy in my undies.

A shirt, undies, and slippers.  A winning combo.

A shirt, underwear and slippers. A winning combo.

IMG_9609

Undies come in orange! Life is good.

 

3 thoughts on “Potty Training in Pictures

  1. rmwaterloo@comcast.net

    GREAT post, Betsy.  Thank you, Jesus, indeed!   🙂  The Lord cares about all our struggles!! Love you all oodles. 🙂 MOM

Leave a Reply

