An Update and a Non-Update

Standard

Hi All, I’m stopping by for a quick update.  I have some good news to share about Operation Up Scale…a week into calorie counting I’ve gained a pound.  Yay!  I haven’t loved eating all those extra calories.  There were plenty of times this past week where I had to take a deep breath and force myself to finish those last few bites, but I did it.  I’m relieved the weight is returning and I’m hoping within the next month I might be back to my target weight.

I wish I could give you an update on Operation Lace Up, but alas, I cannot.  The very same day I posted that I was working on these goals again, I got sick. It was Saturday and my throat hurt so bad I headed into the clinic at my doctor’s office to have a strep test.  Other CFers may understand what I mean when I say I was really, really hoping it was strep.  I know, that sounds crazy, right? The thing is, strep is easy to cure with a few days of antibiotics.  The alternative, a virus, is much harder for my body because there are no medications available to give me a hand.

But…it wasn’t strep.  My doctor sent me home with strict instructions to rest and sleep and drink a lot of fluids.  She warned me that the viruses she had been seeing were starting out with sore throats and sinus issues and landing in the chest three or four days in. She said that they were hitting [otherwise healthy] people hard. You can imagine the trepidation I felt at hearing those words!  Please, not a repeat of December!

About 24 hours into the virus I noticed a few key differences. First of all, I never got a fever.  Second, my appetite wasn’t nearly as affected as it usually is when I get sick.  My throat hurt like crazy, my sinuses weren’t great and I was very tired, but that’s it.

I’m six days in now and feeling decent, almost normal. I’m still more tired than usual and am trying to be careful about my energy.  Because of that, I haven’t been on the treadmill since last Friday, hence no update on Operation Lace Up.  I’m hoping to feel strong enough to get back to it this weekend.

Although that goal was temporarily sidelined I’m feeling extremely encouraged and so very grateful that I didn’t get too sick with this virus or require medical intervention.  As Lucas would say, Hoooorayyyy!!

Hooray!!

Hooray!!

Things are looking up around here! (Get it?)

One thought on “An Update and a Non-Update

Leave a Reply

