Hello My Name Is…

Standard

Jaime.

Of course you all know my lovely wife, Betsy. And oddly, you also know me. Or at least you know some things about me. When Betsy first started mulling over the possibility of starting a blog, I thought it was a great idea. She is an amazing woman with an important story to tell. Plus she is a really good writer and hilarious too. I thought it would be a great creative outlet for her and something to do when she isn’t wrangling our three year old.

Then she wrote the first post. With one click of the mouse our life became an open book. I didn’t realize was just how personal the blog would become. Suddenly I was full of reservations. I know some of the people who read Bright Hope; some are friends, some are acquaintances. Others, however, are complete strangers that, thanks to the miracle of the internet (nice one, Al Gore!), know more than a little bit about me and my family.

In the early days of the blog, Betsy and I had more than one, shall we say, discussion about the initimate nature of the blog. Of course, some of the posts are informative and others are light and whimsical. I am all for spreading the “gospel” of the health benefits derived from eating organic cranberries. I don’t have a problem sharing a cute anecdote about our son, Lucas. But there are some things that are really personal. I wasn’t crazy about her talking about our struggles.

There’s a great line from the movie About A Boy (sorry, I didn’t read the book) where Will, the cool, rich, confirmed bachelor refutes the idea that ‘no man is an island’ by proclaiming “I’m bloody Ibiza!” I’ve been to Ibiza. It is spectacular! But what I’ve learned over the years, in spite of my best attempts to be an island, is that we need other people. We need to share our experiences. We need to share life. And in doing so – in being transparent and vulnerable, we can help one another. John Lennon once wrote “I am he as you are he as you are me and we are altogether.” I have no idea what that means, really. I’m pretty sure he was on drugs! But there is this inescapable sense of being intertwined with those around us.

“And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the day approaching.” (Hebrews 10:24-25.)

So I’ve come around. It’s still not easy to see some things in print (or on the screen or whatever). There are times when I want to log in when Betsy isn’t around and delete certain details from a post. But my hope is that this blog, this splendid blog written by my splendid wife (with the occasional guest post from yours truly), will continue to be a way for us to share life with all of you – our hopes, our fears, our triumphs and our failures and that we will be able to, in some small way, be an encouragement to you just as all of you are an encouragement to us.

7 thoughts on “Hello My Name Is…

  1. Hi, my name is Elaine Behling. My husband Bruce and I were members of Ann Arbor CRC before we moved to Arizona. I knew Becky’s parents and some of her sisters years before she was born. We live in Tucson, AZ and attend a Presbyterian church.

  2. Renee

    When it’s all said and done, you will stand amazed by the sheer number of lives touched – and changed – by this blog. Thank you for being vulnerable. I have been blessed time and time again through Betsy’s Bright Hope.

    Ephesians 3:20-21
    Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

  3. Debbie Ventura

    I am amazed that you have allowed so many in to your personal space! I know how difficult this would have to be! But you are blessing and encouraging many because of your vulnerability and openness (including me) and I am so very proud of you!

Leave a Reply

