For the Love of a Three Year Old

Standard

On Saturday, Jaime and Lucas slipped out of the house first thing in the morning so I could get a little extra sleep.  Ah, the weekend.  Ten hours of sleep is a little slice of heaven.  I woke to a quiet house, and as I was in the kitchen grabbing my medication, I heard the door open.  Little feet pounded against the tile as Lucas burst into the house. Seconds later, he found me.  “MOMMY!!” he exclaimed.  “You’re awake!!  Mommy, I love you so, so much!” and he threw himself into my arms.  What a way to start the day!

Lucas’s little proclamations of love truly warm my heart. He’s not old enough to say he loves me out of compulsion or because he feels a sense of duty.  The love bubbles out of his heart in the purest way.

“You’re my favorite monster,” he told me recently.  I had to think about that one for a minute. Then I remembered what “monster” means to him…Elmo, Zoe, Rosita, Cookie Monster and other highly esteemed Sesame Street characters are monsters.  I beat out Elmo?!  That’s a pretty great compliment!

Last night, I said, “Goodnight Lucas, I love you.”  And he replied, “Goodnight my sweet girl.”  It’s feels wonderful to be the most important girl in his life right now.  I know it won’t last.  I know someday his heart will belong to someone else. I know there may come a day when he shuffles past me in the kitchen without uttering a word. I know he won’t always leap into my arms and study my face and play with my hair.  But at three, I’m his favorite. And it’s pretty great.IMG_5719

2 thoughts on “For the Love of a Three Year Old

Leave a Reply

