Operation Up Scale Update (and the zoo)

Standard

Things are going well with Operation Up Scale.  I’ve gained four pounds which is just a pound shy of where I’d like to be.  I’m having a difficult time getting that last pound on and I suspect I will have to add even more calories to my daily intake if I want to gain it.  My body seems to be resisting more weight and it’s hard to know how much to push.  I feel comfortable at my current weight, I just wanted a little extra cushion 😉 because I’m hoping to add focused exercise into my life soon.  I often drop some weight when I start a new exercise routine.  But 3200 calories a day is about all I can stomach :).  Okay, enough with the puns!

It also seems that in order to maintain this higher weight, I will have to continue eating this much.  I’ve been at my current weight for several weeks now in spite of the higher calorie intake.  Between my CF needs and active days caring for my boys, I must be burning lots of calories.  I get tired of eating, and I’m not thrilled about continuing at this rate, but if this is what my body requires, I just need to do it.

The calorie counting (made tolerable by MyFitnessPal) has caused this process of gaining weight to be so much easier than it ever was in the past.  It has kept me on target.  And it has shown me some of my shortcomings when it comes to getting enough food.  For example, last week we went to the zoo.  We had a great time!

Lucas liked the fake animals almost as much as the real ones!

Lucas liked the fake animals almost as much as the real ones!

Elephants!

Elephants!

Lunch Break!

Lunch Break

Flamingos!

Flamingos!

I ate a good breakfast before we left.  I packed a decent lunch.  But a zoo trip takes a lot of energy!  I pushed Lucas around in the stroller.  I lifted him up to see various animals.  I chased him around on the playground.  And we walked a lot (we clocked it later and it was nearly two miles) to see all the exhibits.  It was also very hot and humid at the zoo (a big appetite killer for me) so in spite of all that activity, I didn’t feel like snacking.  I ate a good dinner but not a high calorie one.  I had an event in the evening, and when I got home I realized I hadn’t inputted any calories for the day.  When I finally did, I was almost 1000 behind my goal!  Thank goodness for Trader Joe’s dark chocolate peanut butter cups; there’s 200 calories in just three.  With those and a few other (healthier) high calorie choices, I was able to make up the difference before bed.

This type of deficit is common for me if I’m not mindful because we are out and about a lot.  If I don’t pack plenty of snacks, I don’t get the calories I need.  I’m working on being better about making time to take care of my own needs before leaving the house, not just Lucas’s.  I never forget his snacks, but I forget mine quite regularly.  So next time we are out, whether we are at the zoo, a museum, the park, a play date, or the pool, I’m bringing along my peanut butter cups!  And maybe some other snacks too.

One thought on “Operation Up Scale Update (and the zoo)

Leave a Reply

