Blue Skies

Standard

Summer weather has finally arrived here in Michigan!  I say finally because it has been a cool spring and this past winter was extremely cold and snowy.  We got a record breaking 90.3 inches of snow.  I don’t know when I’ve been so eager for warm weather!

Summer is my favorite season. I love it because I enjoy all the outdoor activities–vacationing at a lake, splashing in pools, taking walks on beaches, strolling in the neighborhood with my boys after dinner.  I love the feeling of warm sun and the brilliance of clear blue skies.  I love the long days and sound of crickets chirping at night.

Lucas loves to be outside too.  He likes parks, playgrounds, and wandering around the neighborhood.  He likes to tromp through the woods, stomp in puddles and examine insects.  He enjoys lazy walks downtown.  He loves water and finally, this past weekend, the pool opened!  We spent a few hours there on Sunday and it was heavenly.

image

imageDuring that wonderful afternoon with my boys, I was reminded of one of my favorite Bible passages:

“The Lord bless you
    and keep you;
the Lord make his face shine on you
    and be gracious to you;
 the Lord turn his face toward you
    and give you peace.”

Numbers 6:24-25

With the warm sun shining down on me, spending a relaxed afternoon with my little family, I felt so blessed.  God has turned His face toward me, He has given me peace, He has kept me through trials and triumphs, and He has been so very gracious to me.

I’m thankful for my life with all its blessings and all its challenges.  Sometimes the blessings and challenges are so intertwined they can’t be separated.  I love the days when the skies are blue, the breeze is warm, and everything is going smoothly.  But somehow I don’t think the blue would be so brilliant if I didn’t also experience the storms, the cold winters, the times of struggle and hardship.  God doesn’t promise blue skies every day.  But He promises to never leave me and never forsake me (Deuteronomy 31:6).  He gives me strength and courage.  It is enough to know I am loved and cherished by the Maker of the heavens and earth; by the Artist who fashioned those beautiful blue skies.

One thought on “Blue Skies

Leave a Reply

