A Sleepover at Grandma’s

Standard

After Lucas was born, a handful of people told me, “Sleep is overrated.” I think somehow that cliche was meant to comfort me.  You see my order was mixed up and instead of a good sleeper, I got Lucas!  He is many wonderful things, however a wonderful sleeper is not among them.  He woke up every 2-3 hours for the first five months of his life.  At that point I made an appointment with his pediatrician and told her if she didn’t help me, I wasn’t going to make it to his first birthday. And help she did.  It took some creative maneuvering, but within another month we got him sleeping a five hour stretch.

Part of the plan for our family was to have Jaime take care of Lucas in the night.  It started back then and it continues to this day because at 2 years 9 months of age, that sweet boy still does not sleep through the night.  I am so grateful for a husband willing and able to shoulder that burden.  Jaime is perfect for this job on two levels.  First, he doesn’t need a lot of sleep.  Second, he is able to sleep through almost anything.  He can sleep (somewhat) peacefully through the night with Lucas right on top of him, or inches from his face, or nestled in his armpit.  Which is often how I find those two in the morning.

collage I need sleep, and a lot of it.  I feel best if I get nine hours a night.  Sleep is essential for keeping my immune system strong and for fighting off infections.  Being well rested gives me the energy to successfully carry out my daily tasks with reduced lung function.  And I think most moms would agree that good sleep goes a long way when it comes to being patient with small children.

Occasionally Jaime is gone overnight, or gets home very late.  In those instances I know I can always request a sleepover at Grandma’s!  Lucas gets out his backpack and we pack a few diapers, jammies, his toothbrush, and a change of clothes.  We toss a few essentials in his lunchbox and he’s ready to roll. Grandma swings by after work, takes Lucas home with her and brings him back the next day.  He is always excited to go.  I am always excited to sleep.

backpack 1backpack 2

I am grateful for all the ways God provides for my needs.  I’m thankful my supportive husband, our supportive friends and family, and for sleepovers at Grandma’s.

Sleep is overrated?  I think not!

One thought on “A Sleepover at Grandma’s

Leave a Reply

